Return to the organic  world
with heart-beat
Native Flute, drum, gentle finger-picking acoustic Folk guitar and  Bunny's memorable voice singing lyrics that resonate from the heart of the sacred Black Hills, to positively relate ancient indigenous perspectives critical for our lives, our planet, and our future!

  Home

   Music
CDs, Song Clips, Lyrics
Treaty Lands
St8newalker
Prophecy Keeper
White Haired Sunrise

Buffalo Tales

Sacred Ground    
Unreleased Lyrics

dream.gif  Online Store
Bunny's Art & Music Pages

Other Retail Locations

digital download sites
fine retail stores & other web sites that carry Bunny's music

horse.gif  Guestbook Sign Bunny's Guestbook and/or
Join Bunny's Mailing List for Full Moon Music News

rock.gif Fan Photos

Booking      
Bio  
Calendar

Press & Reviews
Workshops

feather2.gif  Links & More
Peaceful Ideas

to Buy NEW CD - print order form
or call
1-800-BUY-MYCD

 Sings Wolf Owns the Stage at Opera House
4-8-9 Click here to read entire review

Dynamic and excellent do not even begin to describe the vibrant and original performance which Bunny gives to her audience...[she] has a talent for gathering in those around her... rich voice. The Grand Opening was attended by a wide age group and a diverse population..." Carma L. Shoop, Library Director, Weston County, Wyoming

Earth Day Concert

"Bunny performs with a quiet charisma that I find impossible to describe. 
She owned the stage the moment she appeared to speak a few words, pick up a flute and begin to play, and then to pick up her guitar and sing.  Her voice is rich with just a hint of breathiness, and is a force all its own.  Her persona is pure peaceRapid City Journal 2009

" I  heartily recommend
[Bunny's] music that matters
to any worthwhile venue, 
the passion, the caring songs, 
the soul-stirring lyrics, and the truly 
m e m o r a b l e  e x p e r i e n c e
of  a Bunny Sings Wolf  performance . . .
Your audiences will thank you." 
Letter of Recommendation

MERIA HELLER SHOW
ARCHIVES Feb. 14, 2006!

"Bunny's dream songs show a strong Lakota influence.  In part, this comes through her use of flutes and drums and some Lakota language.  They are songs honoring spirit, self and the Earth, songs of liberation from things that aren't good for us.  Songs of peace.  Their wholesomeness is undeniable.  Their beauty comes from her heart." Rapid City Journal, May 8, 2009

" melodies lilt and soar. Her lyrics joyfully, sometimes poignantly, but always vividly, call to mind the Black Hills she loves."
Rochelle Hagel, FRONT PAGE  FEATURE ARTICLE in Panache Magazine

"Raising the level of awareness is what is taking place here," Fuller said... Steamboat Pilot

"Sunrise' folk captures earthy spirit with style"
Eric Lochridge
, Rapid City Journal

~ Like her life, her music tells a fascinating tale of a woman with a talent, a vision and a destiny that won't quite let go of her. ~ Rapid City Journal, May 8, 2009

Sings Wolf Owns the Stage at Opera House
Friday, May 8, 2009
Rapid City Journal
Black Hills Live section  (written by Steve Thorpe)

"As always, playing in the Historic Homestake Opera House (for the Gathering of Eagles benefit) was an awesome experience.  Victor Mandan was in his element with his Native American-in-flected "feel good blues," and Paul Larson's cowboy music spoke both to the audience and ghosts of past audiences.  The stage was already warmed up when the Mirage Dance Troupe turned up the heat.  After that, it was all
Bunny Sings Wolf.

Bunny performs with a quiet charisma that I find impossible to describe.  She owned the stage the moment she appeared to speak a few words, pick up a flute and begin to play, and then to pick up her guitar and sing.  Her voice is rich with just a hint of breathiness, and is a force all its own.  Her persona is pure peace with an underlying humor that caught the audience and led them to howl along on "Moon."

I picked up a copy of Bunny's "White Haired Sunrise,"to which I am listening as I write.  Her interpretation of Kate Wolf's "Give Yourself to Love" is particularly compelling, and I was delighted to find Bunny's essentially rewritten version of Chris Voyles' "The Wind in My Hair."

Bunny's dream songs show a strong Lakota influence.  In part, this comes through her use of flutes and drums and some Lakota language.  They are songs honoring spirit, self and the Earth, songs of liberation from things that aren't good for us.  Songs of peace.  Their wholesomeness is undeniable.  Their beauty comes from her heart.

"White Haired Sunrise" and the rest of Bunny's CDs,
including her new one, "St8newalker," are available through links at bunnysingswolf.com"

To receive your personally autographed CD please Click HERE or
Please Click H
ERE to
Order St8newalker CD online!


quoted from Friday, May 8, 2009
Rapid City Journal
Black Hills Live section  (written by Steve Thorpe)

Rapid City Journal's Steve Thorpe Reports Friday, April 10, 2009:   "...Bunny Sings Wolf will be back in the Hills as headliner for the Gathering of Eagles Benefit
(
www.sut-gatheringofeagles.org) at the Historic Homestake Opera House in Lead (www.leadoperahouse.org/events) from 7 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Friday, April 24.

I first heard Bunny when she was busking the porch at the Alpine Inn in Hill City in the '90's.  At the time, I thought "Sings Wolf" was a tribute tot Kate Wolf, though it turns out that connection was as fortuitous as it was apt.  She was singing a number of Kate's songs, though as her gig at the Alpine progressed, she moved more into her original"dream songs," which woke her from sleep.  If you want the whole story, check her out at www.bunnysingswolf.com and on MySpace.

Her music has grown over the years to include heartbeat drum and Native American flute, and she now characterizes it as "Lakota-inflective folk music." It's the same rich voice, the same rich sense of humor and an ever-increasing repertoire of songs that come from her heart, which has its home here in the Black Hills.

~ Like her life, her music tells a fascinating tale of a woman with a talent, a vision and a destiny that won't quite let go of her. ~

Also on the bill:
Victor Mandan, Paul Larson, yours truly (Steve Thorpe) with Gary Stetler and the Mirage Dance Troupe performing "Earth Song", a tribute to Mother Earth.  Mirage's Shelby McDill says,
"We support the gathering, which honors the elders and brings people from a many diverse backgrounds...together in sacred ways.  It's a good time to be with old friends, and meet new ones."   The final shape of the show is still in flux at this writing, but it's looking like an amazing event. Donations will be taken at the door." 

Custer Chronical Photos from Bunny's Benefit Concert for W.E.A.V.E. October 2006- click on images to enlarge

   

 "A Black Hills Treasure Returns!  With songs of peace and healing, accompanied with acoustic guitar and Native American flute...joyfully reverberating through the Black Hills for about 4 years now, since she began discovering the music that she explains started happening to her in dreams since moving back to her family s home territory." Country Register

"Each song is a pearl" Willy Priem - a fan from Belgium

Bunny has been honored to be included in elite list of

Metis Women of Today

 "...one of the finest artists I have known.." Waldrut Matush, Founder, Old World Company, Hill City, SD

   
March 2005 FRONT  PAGE  ARTICLE

about Bunny's concert/workshops in
The JAMESTOWN SUN

 View photo of that article below
 

Hear Archived Live telephone interview with Bunny at this Native American Owned & Operated Web Radio
Prophecy Keepers Radio

Arts Council awards artist-in-residence grant to Buffalo Museum.
"Bunny was well received for the festival so we wanted to bring her back
. ...
[in this] state-funded program is designed to give students an understanding of
quality art and appreciation for cultural traditions"
Felicia Sargeant, National Buffalo Museum director, Jamestown, ND

"Bunny has played in our establishment on numerous occasions, having developed a nice following in a short amount of time.    Bunny has a very unique musical style.  Her music transcends Traditional Folk to touch upon light country with a Native American and regional sound and feel.  Bunny is a consummate professional who can use her music to open up a dialogue with her audience.  I feel Bunny's understanding of this region's history and culture provide her with a wealth of inspiration for her music, which she uses to great effect. B.B. Cody's Entertainment Director, Deadwood, SD

BRAVOS TO HAND OUT THIS WEEK 
The JAMESTOWN SUN
hands out these bravos this week:

BRAVO to the National Buffalo Museum
for bringing Bunny Sings Wolf to Jamestown and area students.  Credit also goes to the Arts Center for working with the museum on a grant so students in Jamestown, Anne Carlsen Center for Children and surrounding communities could learn more about the customs and life of the Plains Indians.

Jamestown Sun, Jamestown, ND

     (see entire articles, MORE PRESS REVIEWS and letters of recommendation below)  

Click here to read
FRONT  PAGE  ARTICLE
about Bunny in
in

The JAMESTOWN SUN
to follow-up and REVIEW
her
March 2005
  concert and workshops

and here's another article from the
The JAMESTOWN SUN 
(ND) - March, 2005
Arts Council awards artist-in-residence grant to Buffalo Museum

In support of their efforts to promote community arts, the National Buffalo Museum has been awarded a $970 Artist-in-Residence grant by the North Dakota Council on the Arts.

The National Buffalo Museum was among 34 recipients of Artist-in-Residence funding.  This state-funded program is designed to give students an understanding of quality art and appreciation for cultural traditions by brings artists into the school.  The artist then conducts workshops and classes that involve students and teachers in hand-on art experiences.  A total of $52,053 was awarded during the last grant round.

The grant will help provide funds to the National Buffalo Museum for a residency with Black Hills Folk singer Bunny Sings Wolf.  Sings Wolf will work with students at the Anne Carlsen Center for Children as well as the kindergarten classes in Jamestown from March 7-11, 2005.  She hopes to stimulate in students an acute awareness of their own natural ability to
make music while learning to recognize the subtleties of high and low, long and short, fast and slow sounds, rhythms, identify the emotions that accompany these sounds, and to recognize how music puts people in relationship with each other and with the natural world all around them.  Her other goal is to instill in students an appreciation of how the silences in between music notes
give sounds "color", depth, definition and impact, which helps to make
a truly memorable and dynamic performance.
(italics added by Hillbunny Productions)

"Bunny came to Jamestown for a live performance in the Frontier Village amphitheater last summer for White Cloud's birthday celebration and Tatanka festival," said Felicia Sargeant, National Buffalo Museum director.  "Bunny was well received for the festival so we wanted to bring her back to visit the schools as well as do another live performance.  Hopefully this performance won't come under a
tornado/thunderstorm watch as her July performance did."

The North Dakota Council on the Arts is the state agency responsible for the support and development of the arts throughout North Dakota and is funded by the state Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts.

More funding is needed to match the grant funds received from the Council on the arts.  For more information on how to help to bring Bunny Sings Wolf to Jamestown, contact the National Buffalo Museum at 252-8648.

The deadline for the next round of Artist-in-Residence grants is April 1.  For more information, contact the Council on the Arts at (701- 325-7593 or www.DiscoverND.com/arts.

    Click here to read excerpts from Jamestown's Teacher Evaluations of Bunny's music and cultural workshops.


 

       White Haired Sunrise has been released! Click here for the lyrics, inside stories, and music clips. 'Sunrise' folk captures earthy spirit with style
Above the din

(reviewing the release of  Bunny's 3rd CD
"White Haired Sunrisie")  by reporter

Eric Lochridge (his photo in clipping pictured at far left)
Rapid City Journal
(SD) - June 6, 2003 

A homage to nature is on the cover and in the straight-forward folk music on Bunny Sings Wolf's newest album, "White Haired Sunrise"

Black Hills folk singer Bunny Sings Wolf ably fills the niche of local Earth Mother with unforgettable folk panache. The Lakota-inflected folk songs of her new CD, "White Haired Sunrise," are marked both by their spiritual and social awareness and Sings Wolf's delicate vocal delivery.

On "White Haired Sunrise," her third CD, Sings Wolf's New Age theme is woven around acoustic guitar punctuated by wooden flute.  Her delivery is uncluttered, and she seems perpetually at ease, even amid the gloom of the disc's opening song, "The End is Near," which begins: "When the mountain trembled and I held on tight/ And knew that hanging wouldn't save me/ Still I strengthened my grip, praying rather than hoping."

No matter the outlook of the song, spiritual well-being seems to be the focus, and the natural world informs the music.  Her organic folk is well-suited to the simple, straightforward performances.

Sings Wolf, of Custer, Wyo., made her name busking around the Black Hills but more recently has worked her way into paid gigs.  With "White Haired Sunrise," she captures the spirit of the Earth Mother, briefly, and sets it free to roam the Black Hills again.

(Don't forget to also visit Bunny's Guestbook for EXTENSIVE REVIEWS, COMMENTS from fans!)

"Each song is a pearl" - Willy Priem-Belgium      

Country Register (SD Statewide)- April 2003

A Black Hills Treasure Returns!

  Wana Wagle ee (Lakota for I m back now )   a Black Hills original - BUNNY SINGS WOLF reports she is once again performing in the hills to begin her 2003 touring season at a concert, April 26, in Rapid City  at The Journey Museum Theatre where Spirit lives. 

 With songs of peace and healing, accompanied with acoustic guitar and Native American flute, she will be joined on stage with Lakota Children Fancy Dancers in full regalia to perform at Bunny s intermission.  Meet the Artist at Wine Reception to follow. ---SEATING LIMITED---Only 200 tickets will be sold. Advance Tickets may be purchased at The Journey and Other Black Hills Locations - All Seats $12. Ticket locations and Info: www.geocities.com/dassbeat - Dassbeat Music: 605-745-4997 and at The Journey Museum http://www.journeymuseum.org/english/calendarofevents/ 605-394-6923.   

Bunny s songs have been joyfully reverberating through the Black Hills for about 4 years now, since she began discovering the music that she explains started happening to her in dreams since moving back to her family s home territory.  For a biography, music clips and stories, lyrics, and photos she has taken of some special places in the Black Hills, visit her web site at www.bunnysingswolf.com.

Bunny s long awaited third CD is NOW in the making, and it is hoped that  White Haired Sunrise based on the wisdom and peace inspired from a sunrise she experienced will be released at this Journey Museum concert!  If it is anything like her first two albums, this one promises to be spring breeze gentle with crisp, melodic Native American flute harmonies over Bunny s river rapids powerful seasoned voice.   

Since her last album was recorded Bunny has been gifted with 4 custom made flutes with White Buffalo birds (where the voice comes from, she explains).  Bunny claims that the new flutes have transformed her solo acoustic performance to a buffalo chorus .  She further muses that these flutes based on a design by Daniel Red Buffalo circa 1930 practically glow as they rest on her on stage flute rack waiting to be played.

 In her upcoming CD the buffalo flutes are used on practically all of her 13 original song tracks, as well as in harmonies with two much requested songs by the late Kate Wolf entitled Give Yourself to Love and These Times We re Living In.

When asked why she lives in the hills when the majority of her paid music performances keep her traveling long distances to reach more populated areas, she explains:   "I live here in respect and honor of these beautiful and precious natural things that inspire and I hope are reflected in my music.  I pray that this music will comfort the hearts of listeners who wonder how to cope with these difficult times in mankind s history.  What a marvelous journey the world is changing, yet there is hope as long as there is music to heal our hearts.  In my travels I meet so many thoughtful people who come to hear and value what this music represents, people who are willing to make the personal commitment to act in respectful and peaceful ways with each other, and all our relations.  I am so grateful to be living in this time and to be able to have music to sing and share!  So, for me this time in this place is like living in a wonderful dream because there is always hope where there is still the beauty of natural open spaces, and where there is still a song...

The JAMESTOWN SUN
cONCERT - fRIDAY,  jULY 9, 2004

Rapid City Journal (SD)- April 2003

Steve Thorpe - local entertainment column

The last time I heard Bunny Sings Wolf, she was busking the Alpine Inn in Hill City; and she had her act down better than any other regional busker I've seen.  She had entertaining tourists down to a fine art.

Since that time, she has taken her music to the touring level.  It seems a shame, to me, that we will no longer be able to hear her on the front porch of The Alpine, but time moves on and so do we all.

Bunny returns to the area this Saturday, April 26, the first in a Dassbeat Productions series of World Class Women Songwriters at The Journey.

Bunny is an excellent songwriter and performer.  I expect her stage show has taken a step up from her busker's show...Don't miss it.

News Letter Journal (Custer, WY)- April 10, 2003

Local Singer releases third CD

White Haired Sunrise has been released! Click here for the lyrics, inside stories, and music clips.

Local singing talent, Bunny Sings Wolf will soon be releasing her third CD entitled, White Haired Sunrise.  Although she has been singing most of her life, Sings Wolf reentered the world of singing professionally three years ago.

Sings Wolf explained she came from generations of a musical/artistic family.  Poetry and song were a natural part of her life.  She and her family grew up in the rural farming country of Northern California.

"It was a slower time when people of all ages, of various cultures, enjoyed spending time together and sharing stories and experiences," commented Sings Wolf.  Even as a child she wrote music.  The family used to sing together on various trips they took.

"Later my sister, who now sings with the New Christy Minstrels, and I used to perform together in California where we grew up.  We recorded music for commercials.  When my sister joined a rock group I stopped singing and put my guitar down.  I would sing off and on until three years ago when my husband and I moved to the Black Hills to Custer," explained Sings Wolf.  She and her husband first lived in Hill City and Custer in 1987 - moved back to Boulder, Colorado where she maintained her pencil portrait art studio, then returned to the hills of Custer just three years ago.

It was in the Black Hills where she found her voice once again.  Her first CD, Sacred Ground which she recorded with the help of David Allen from Keystone, South Dakota, is about her coming back to her music and rediscovering her song.  (Buffalo Tales, her second CD was released just 6 months later, with songs about wide open spaces and respect for the land, it's creatures and the Creator).

Sings Wolf explained she often gets her inspiration for her songs in dreams and wakes up, and sings them into a recorder.  The next morning she writes them out.

"The Black Hills gives me my inspiration.  All the songs (of the 16 songs) on my latest CD are original (except for 4 by others).  She said her music is soulful for this time to comfort hearts from the Heart of the Black HIlls.  Most of the songs on this new CD, like her others, (Sacred Ground and Buffalo Tales), have haunting flute harmonies, some with a native drum (to accompany her acoustic guitar and thought provoking lyrics).

Steamboat Pilot (Steamboat Springs, CO) - April 21, 2002

Event is designed to be informative, fun

2002 Earth Day is today

Deborah Fuller plans on local residents taking home more than pamphlets of information from Yampatika's 2002 Earth Day..."This is another avenue for us to connect people to the landscape," said Fuller, executive director of Yampatika.

The event will include hands-on activities that will educate residents about a wide variety of environmental concerns such as chronic wasting disease, tree planting, recycling used computers, drought, air pollution, population, bears and water conservation.

"It gives us the opportunity to educate ore people," Fuller said.

She said not everybody knows all of the environmental issues present in the local area and hopes residents will take advantage of the local organization and professionals who will be available to answer questions and provide information...By increasing the communities awareness of current problems, organizers hope it will inspire residents to improve the quality of life in the local community by making environmentally friendly decisions...Bunny Sings Wolf will perform folk songs about the sacredness of Mother Earth.

The message of Wolf's singing emphasizes seeing the environment as an integrated part of daily life.  Fuller said Wolf's folk songs embody the meaning of the 2002 Earth Day celebration through their appreciation of nature. 

Considering the importance of the land and people's connectivity to it is something organizers hope to illustrate through their activities and information.

"Raising the level of awareness is what is taking place here," Fuller said...

Diann Pipher, public affairs specialist with the Forest Service... an excellent forum for people to discuss ways to strike a balance between their own values, sucha as protecting property from fire, and natural processes, such as wildland fires, she added.

That balance can be difficult in an age where lifestyles often clash with the message of Earth Day, Bunny Sings Wolf said.

Sings Wolf, a singer-songwriter from Custer, Wyo., entertained the crowd with folks songs and ballads about the sacredness of Mother Earth.

Her lyrics express an appreciation for the environment and people's connection to the earth.  "We need to see the connectedness of all things," she said.

Life can become so busy that it gradually severs the connection people once felt with the land, Sings Wolf said.

One of her songs, "Two Worlds Clash," reflects the quandary people face in trying to reconcile their way of life with the natural world.  Earth Day reminds people of the importance of rediscovering that connection, she said.

Panache Magazine Front Page Feature Article  - February 2001

Local Woman Rediscovers Her Song
By R
ochelle Hagel

Bunny Sings Wolf  has been performing for tips at the Alpine Inn in Hill City for about a year now. During the summer season, she plays on the porch for tourists and locals alike. But all requests to buy a CD or tape of the music were met with a rueful negative - playing for tips only doesn't often yield the kind of money it takes to put out a CD.

"People used to come up and listen to me sing and they'd say: "I'd like to buy your CD' and I'd say "That's not going to happen with me singing on this porch for tips. The only way that's going to happen is if someone marches up on to this porch and says 'I want to record a CD for you.'"

"Well, one day I looked up and there stood this guy like he had been beamed down there and he said, 'Hi, Bunny Sings Wolf, my name is David Allen, and I'd like to record your first CD.' Pretty scary, huh?"

"He said he'd been listening to me sing from across the street - he works at Warrior's Work - for three months and was putting together his recording studio in his basement and when he got it done he wanted me to be his first customer," she said. The CD they recorded, Sacred Ground, was released this past fall.

Allen, a musician himself, helped with much more than just the recording of Sacred Ground. He helped write music for one of the songs, performed backing vocals and Lakota "vocables" on others and played back-up guitar, bass and flute on many. He even made special flutes for recording the CD, and his calling Bunny "Sings Wolf" also stuck.  During the recording process this Indian name, so suited to Bunny on many levels, continues to remind her to send out her voice with the confidence of a well traveled, teaching and sharing wolf mother.

"David ended up making three or four flutes during the making of this CD, so we could have the right key for the songs," Sings Wolf  said. "So we both put a lot of work in on this album." More Than a Mountain," the last song written for SACRED GROUND, is Sings Wolf 's personal favorite. The song, inspired by Crazy Horse Mountain, found its words in Sings Wolf  and its melody in Allen. "I was feeling sad about the recording process coming to an end and I saw the sign - it says "Never Forget Your Dreams" - and I went up there and I got inspired," she said. "I went to the studio and said, 'David, we've got one more song." "I brought the words to the studio and he started playing, I started singing and I said, 'Quick, turn on the recorder."

It's more than a mountain
More than a sky More than an eagle flying by
It's a rock that is speaking about True dreams
---from More Than a Mountain

Sings Wolf  has been writing songs since she was a child. She and her sister were semi-professional performers in California where they grew up. They had cut an album and recorded music for many radio commercials. The act was so impressive that one of Ed Sullivan's talent scouts asked them to come and audition for the show after hearing one of the commercials on the radio. "But before we went she went and joined a rock group," Sings Wolf  said. "That was when I put down my guitar." She played and performed only sporadically in the following years.

But when she and her husband moved back to the Black Hills, she told him she was going to pursue music seriously again. "Since we moved back to the Black Hills, I just couldn't contain my music anymore, it's coming out in waves now," she said. "This album is my coming back to my music, which is my sacred ground," Sings Wolf  said. "The whole process of the CD revolves around my rediscovering my song."

Not all of the songs on Sacred Ground are from this latest burst of musical creativity, though. Sings Wolf  wrote Black Hills Train in 1987, the first time she lived in the Black Hills. She and her husband lived in a cabin between Hill City and Custer and she could see the train tracks from her kitchen window. "One day I looked out and saw a big engine and I ran out and said, 'Are you going to start running trains down here again,' and he said, 'No, this is the last train to Custer before they tear out the tracks and put in a bike trail,"

There were no speeches Crowds or bands to mark its journeys end.
A few old timers drove their trucks
To follow their old friend
Some shed tears, some just looked on
To watch its passing, now it's gone
There was a time when all eyes watched
For that precious train's acomin'
It brought the cloth, the coal, the steel Frontier days of its running
The final train a trip too fast
But in these hills its spirit lasts
----from Black Hills Train

She wrote Wally's Song for Waldraut "Wally" Matush, the owner of the Alpine Inn. "She came here with basically nothing and she made something out of nothing," Sings Wolf  said. "Opening up a restaurant in a city of 600 is a little bit crazy, but she's made a great business out of it." The song can also be applied to other Black Hills institutions that would seem to some to just be impossible dreams - like Crazy Horse, she said. 'The Hills kind of inspire that kind of craziness," she said. 'There's something that makes creative people run amuck."


 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

Bunny Creates a Portrait from your photograph
this Portrait of Wally Matush, founder of the Alpine Inn,
Hill City, SD is proudly displayed in it's main dining room

We plant our roots and we hold on here
We stay and work and we pay our bills
And we hold our own in these Black Hills
Yes we stay and work, hard work,
No frills Just like Wally did
And we don't give up in these Black Hills
---from Wally's Song

Sings Wolf , who lives in Custer, plays a mixture of her own music and cover material when performing live. Most of the cover material she does is the work of a singer/songwriter named Kate Wolf. Wolf was very popular, especially with other musicians, in the 70s, hence Bunny Sings Wolf. "She wrote music that was straight to the heart and easy to play on the guitar," Sings Wolf  said. Only one of the Wolf songs, Back-roads, made it onto the album. It and Wyoming's Yesterday, by Patty Clayton join ten songs written by Sings Wolf .

Sings Wolf 's melodies alternately lilt and soar. Her lyrics sometimes joyfully, sometimes poignantly, but always vividly, call to mind the Black Hills that she loves. In fact in live performance, she speaks so glowingly of the area that her listeners sometimes ask her if she is paid to promote the Black Hills. "In between my songs, I talk about the Black Hills and people ask me if I'm employed by the chamber of commerce,' she said.

Sings Wolf 's fan club spans generations and oceans. She says her most loyal fans are in Belgium. She keeps in contact with them by email. "The emailed me and said when you get the CD done, send it right away," she said. "They were the first person I mailed it out to." "He emailed me back and said all the songs on this CD are pearls," she said, smiling.

Her youngest fans live right there in Hill City. There are a group of preteen girls who live close to the Alpine Inn. "They love to come over and sing with me at the Alpine and I have song they know by heart," she said. "When they come down, I put them on the mic." Sings Wolf said she is trying to encourage them, because "Hill City needs more music," and it looks as if it is working. "I was walking down Main Street by the Black Hills Institute one day and there they were on a little blanket with the flutes and a tip jar and they saw me and they said with glee, "Bunny, Bunny, Bunny come over here! We made $5 in tips today!" Listen to a sample of: Chains

Rapid City Journal 5-29-00,  Photo Courtesy of Dick Kettlewell/Journal Staff

Please visit Bunny's   Online Store  for all Bunny's music products on SALE!

Why does Bunny play the "Native American" flute?

Just as a "French horn" is a particular type of musical instrument, "Native American flute" refers to a particular type/style of musical instrument.  Also the style of storytelling dubbed "Native American Storytelling" does not guarantee presentation by an enrolled member of a Federally-recognized tribal member. 

A reviewer with the Rapid City Journal  dubbed Bunny's music as "Lakota-inflective Folk" which  aptly describes the type and subject matter of  the original music that has come to her in dreams which she shares often with flute music (which also came in dreams along with the lyrics and music of her songs).  Her music comes to build bridges among races of all people, Red, Yellow,  White and Black, and educate, show honor and respect for human BE-ings, Lakota and ALL other earth- nurturing, Native American and/or indigenous or other life honoring ways, perspectives and cultures. 
 

Bunny's songs speak in beauty of natural and life nurturing spaces and the importance of living ways of cultivating peace and harmony among
all our relations
.
 
Mitakuye Oyasin
 
(Lakota-we are all related).

The circle is round, each of the colors of human races, and of the four directions is to be honored equally, and
everything we send comes back to us
- as above so below.
May we each choose to do what we can to walk in wisdom
so that ALL may be blessed.

"I"m white, but I can't prove it."

Although Bunny has a rich mix of first nations ancestry, continues to learn from, shares with and associates with many well respected "Federally-recognized"  Native American Indian tribal elders, chiefs, and medicine people, and she has  researched the  stories and teachings that stem from cultural perspectives that she may share in workshops or performances,  please know that the music and the original songs she shares (and the stories and teachings that come with them) have come to her in dreams. 

While she plays Native American flutes in music that is enjoyed and endorsed by many prominent card carrying Native Americans,  Bunny Sings Wolf's music does NOT claim to be "Native American made"  as is now specified by the U.S. Government.   IF it is your desire to listen only to music made by an enrolled member of a "federally-recognized"  "Native American" musician, you may find them through a web search. 

click here to purchase Bunny's music online or call
1-800-BUY-MYCD

if you wish to place your order for Bunny's CDs, using a credit card.

Most asked question:    "How can I get a copy of Bunny's latest new songs that I  heard at her concerts?"

Most of Bunny's ORIGINAL SONGS (upward of 450 at last count) have "arrived" usually at 3:00 a.m., in the form of dreams  since Bunny has been living at home in the Black Hills.  Waking her from deep sleep - playing in her head - complete with words and music, she records them, to learn and share later. In honoring this unique music gift, Bunny feels a solemn responsibility to the Creator to use her voice and carry these songs to as many people as possible.  Lyrics of some of these songs, yet unreleased on CD, may be found on Unreleased Lyrics page. If you wish to be added to the growing list of those who want to be notified when new CD's are available, and receive announcements of her UPCOMING LIVE PERFORMANCES scheduled in YOUR AREA, please sign Mailing List

If you are interested in promoting
and/or helping to
finance future music CD productions,
please contact
Hillbunny Productions
(change (at) to the @ sign in address line before sending)

We hope you will let us know you stopped by for this web visit  - please sign Bunny's Guestbook. Thank you!

Bunny's songs speak in beauty of natural and life nurturing spaces and the importance of living ways of cultivating peace and harmony among all our relations.  Mitakuye Oyasin  (Lakota-we are all related).

Home | Art Gallery | Biography | Booking Contact  | Calendar | Fan Page Photos | Guest-bookMailing List  | More Peaceful Ideas & Links
|Music Samples | Lyrics |

 Online Store  Retail Locations and Download Sites | 8th Ceremony | Workshops - Community/School Residencies

Creative Commons License
Original Music Works by Bunny Sings Wolf is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at
webmaster

 Questions or problems regarding this site?  Please contact  webmaster
© Copyright Hillbunny Productions, 2000-2014 All Rights Reserved

Most asked question:    "How can I get a copy of Bunny's latest new songs that I  heard at her concerts?"

Most of Bunny's ORIGINAL SONGS (upward of 450 at last count) have "arrived" usually at 3:00 a.m., in the form of dreams  since Bunny has been living at home in the Black Hills.  Waking her from deep sleep - playing in her head - complete with words and music, she records them, to learn and share later. In honoring this unique music gift, Bunny feels a solemn responsibility to the Creator to use her voice and carry these songs to as many people as possible.  Lyrics of some of these songs, yet unreleased on CD, may be found on Unreleased Lyrics page. If you wish to be added to the growing list of those who want to be notified when new CD's are available, and receive announcements of her UPCOMING LIVE PERFORMANCES scheduled in YOUR AREA, please sign Mailing List

If you are interested in promoting
and/or helping to
finance future music CD productions,
please contact
Hillbunny Productions
(change (at) to the @ sign in address line before sending)

We hope you will let us know you stopped by for this web visit  - please sign Bunny's Guestbook. Thank you!



LETTERS OF RECOMMENDATION:

"Greetings Arts Council,  ...It gives me great pleasure and honor to tell you about Bunny and her musical talents.  She has preformed at our store in Rapid City South Dakota and has made her music available through our book and music store. 

Bunny's music is only unique to her own style and she is a very compassionate person as is evidenced in her music.  I strongly believe that she will make an excellent role model for the Arts Council.  She has a wonderful personality and its charismatic and can communicate to others very well.  Our collection of music is by far one of the most extensive collections of Native American music in the area.  We offer approximately 1300 titles of music and now Bunny's music is part of our collection..." Marty J. Frogg, Manager/Coordinator, Prairie Edge Book and Music Store, He Sapa Distribution

March 27, 2002 -  -  -  "On numerous occasions over the past two and a half years,
my wife Judy and I have been a part of an appreciative audience for Bunny Sings Wolf's performances at the Alpine Inn in Hill City...plus this year we have driven from Rapid City to Deadwood on many occasions to view her performances at  B.B. Cody's.  Always, we have found the trips worth the effort!

Each performance was unique and a very special experience.  Bunny relates directly to the audience, tailoring her selection of songs for that individual occasion and the specific audience she entertains.  For example, we have watched her pay special attention to young adults and children, often inviting them to come on stage and play the drum or rattle with her.  Of course, the audience loved this personal touch!

In planning our wedding last summer, we hired Bunny to sing.  The highlight of her performance was this:  Bunny surprised us with a song she had written especially for our wedding day.  This song - "Our Special Day" - Listen to a sample of: Special Day captured the essence of our day. our love, and our relationship with Bunny, the performer and our friend.  This more than anything else I could say captures the essence of Bunny, the performer, and Bunny, the professional.  In a word, she cares about each performance as a reflection of a special time and place.

Of course, Bunny is always professional, punctual, and a pleasure!  You will not be disappointed with the manner in which Bunny captures the moment for your audience.  To be specific. she will do for our audiences exactly what she did for our wedding: provide a personal, professional performance!

In closing, both my wife Judy and I recommend Bunny Sings Wolf without reservation for any venue in which an audience gathers to hear music "that matters."  We whole-heartedly recommend to any worthwhile venue the passion, the caring songs, the soul-stirring lyrics, and memorable experience of a Bunny Sings Wolf performance. Your audiences will thank you.  Sincerely yours, Alfed R. Boysen, Ed.D., Professor of English

. . . from Old World Company, Wally Matush (originator of the now famous Alpine Inn)
"I have known Bunny since 1985...Her communications skills proved to be excellent with our guests.  Bunny also did some very fine drawings for me.  I believe her to be one of the finest artists I have known.

Bunny . . . has performed at the Alpine Inn in Hill City, and other private engagements.  The guests have enjoyed her songs, which she composed herself.  She expressed the ability to involve the guests in the background of her lyrics, teaching them the history of her songs.

I have found that our guests have spoken very highly of her artistic qualities.  Bunny is a very accommodating and flexible person."

Weston County Library Director, Carma L. Shoop
"I am writing a letter in support of Bunny Sings Wolf.  I am the Director of Weston County Library, and was also a teacher for seven years.  Bunny Sings Wolf performed a the Grand Opening of the newly remodeled Children's Library March of 2001.
Dynamic and excellent do not even begin to describe the vibrant and original performance which Bunny gives to her audience.
The Grand Opening was attended by a wide age group and a diverse population. Bunny has a talent for gathering in those around her.  The age and place in the community made no difference in how attentive they were to her performance.  The majority of her music is original and besides her superior rich voice she uses a wide variety of instruments. During her performance she also encouraged the audience to participate by coming up and while using her instruments participated while she sang.

While teaching I attended many of the Arts Council programs so I am familiar with the  talented artists that perform for the Wyoming Arts Council and I highly recommend Bunny Sings Wolf."

...from Weston County Museum Director, Bobbie Jo Tysdal
"It is with great pleasure I write this letter of recommendation for Bunny Sings Wolf. She took part with her time and talents...here at the museum for our annual Living History Days and our annual Candlelight Living Christmas. Our history days are two days of hands-on experiences for school children from Weston, Crook, and Campbell counties, as well as rural schools from South Dakota, the includes about 500 students, t4achers, and parent chaperones.

During history days Bunny performed her own brand of folk music as well as traditional Native American music. Bunny made several visits to the museum prior to the event to plan and organize her presentation to the school. children.  She was very excited about working with the Weston County Museum District to provide this opportunity to the children and heir teachers.  She tied her program in with our overall theme of Native American and Pioneer days of our local region.  She was very knowledgeable on the cultures she was portraying and the teachers were very pleased with her programs.  Her relationship with her audience was very special.  Her communication with the children, which ranged in age from Kindergarten through eighth graders, was exceptional.  She was able to adapt her program immediately to whatever age group was presented.  She physically interacted wit the students by allowing them to "help" her with her music by playing some of her instruments and singing with her.  A large majority of the thank you letters we received from the students and teachers indicated Bunny was their favorite station.

During the Candlelight  Christmas celebration Bunny performed for approximately 350 people throughout the evening [by playing her original compositions on her beautiful White Buffalo Native American flutes, in full Native American  regalia].  Once again she came to the museum ahead of time to prepare and plan her presentation as we were locating her in a different area of the museum for this.  She performed a wide variety of music for this event, including some of her newest [original] music.  The response was, once again, very favorable from the audiences.  Many people asked me to have her return for future events.  Bunny is a very personable and experienced performer.  Her communications skills and knowledge of her subjects are exceptional.  I look forward to working with her in the future."

...from B.B. Cody's (Casino and restaurant), Deadwood, S.D. - Shift Manager, Keith Rice
"Bunny has played in our establishment on numerous occasions, having developed a nice following in a short amount of time.  Bunny has a very unique musical style.  Her music transcend Traditional Folk to touch upon light country with a Native American and regional sound and feel.  Bunny is a consummate professional who can use her music to open up a dialogue with her audience.  I feel Bunny's understanding of this region's history and culture provide her with a wealth of inspiration for her music, which she uses to great effect.

Although, I only know Bunny through her appearances at B.B. Cody, I feel her professionalism and integrity are why we keep booking her, while her desire to provide a wonderful musical experience keeps her very busy touring the region."

Mitakuye Oyasin    (Lakota - We are all related)
FOR FEES, CONTRACT INFORMATION, TECHNICAL RIDER , PRESS KIT

PLEASE email:  manager(at)hillbunny.com
(replace (at) with @ symbol in email address before sending)

click here to purchase Bunny's music online or call
1-800-BUY-MYCD

if you wish to place your order for Bunny's CDs, using a credit card.

Most asked question:    "How can I get a copy of Bunny's latest new songs that I  heard at her concerts?"

Most of Bunny's ORIGINAL SONGS (upward of 450 at last count) have "arrived" usually at 3:00 a.m., in the form of dreams  since Bunny has been living at home in the Black Hills.  Waking her from deep sleep - playing in her head - complete with words and music, she records them, to learn and share later. In honoring this unique music gift, Bunny feels a solemn responsibility to the Creator to use her voice and carry these songs to as many people as possible.  Lyrics of some of these songs, yet unreleased on CD, may be found on Unreleased Lyrics page. If you wish to be added to the growing list of those who want to be notified when new CD's are available, and receive announcements of her UPCOMING LIVE PERFORMANCES scheduled in YOUR AREA, please sign Mailing List

If you are interested in promoting
and/or helping to
finance future music CD productions,
please contact
Hillbunny Productions
(change (at) to the @ sign in address line before sending)

We hope you will let us know you stopped by for this web visit  - please sign Bunny's Guestbook. Thank you!

Bunny's songs speak in beauty of natural and life nurturing spaces and the importance of living ways of cultivating peace and harmony among all our relations.  Mitakuye Oyasin  (Lakota-we are all related).

Home | Art Gallery | Biography | Booking Contact  | Calendar | Fan Page Photos | Guest-bookMailing List  | More Peaceful Ideas & Links
|Music Samples | Lyrics |

 Online Store  Retail Locations and Download Sites | 8th Ceremony | Workshops - Community/School Residencies

Creative Commons License
Original Music Works by Bunny Sings Wolf is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at
webmaster
(at)bunnysingswolf.com
(change (at) to the @ sign in email address line before sending)

 Questions or problems regarding this site?  Please contact  webmaster
(change (at) to the @ sign in address line before sending)
© Copyright Hillbunny Productions, 2000-2014 All Rights Reserved